Debenhams to reopen 14 more stores from next week – see the full list

DEBENHAMS is set to reopen another 14 stores from next week as it continues to welcome back customers.

It follows the successful reopening of 92 shops in England and Northern Ireland after the coronavirus shutdown.

PA:Press Association

Debenhams is reopening 14 stores in Wales and Scotland[/caption]

The latest batch of Debenhams store openings are made up of locations in Wales and Scotland.

It comes after both governments revealed when “non-essential” retailers would be able to start opening their doors for business again.

In Wales, trading restrictions will be eased on this Tuesday, June 23, while Scotland will follow suit the following week on Monday, June 29.

You can see the latest planned Debenhams reopenings in box below.

Which Debenhams stores will reopen from next week?

DEBENHAMS will reopen the following stores from next week.

Reopening on Tuesday, June 23:

  • Bangor          
  • Cardiff          
  • Carmarthen
  • Llandudno
  • LLanelli
  • Newport
  • Swansea
  • Wrexham

Reopening on Monday, June 29:

  • Ayr
  • Dumfries
  • Dunfermline
  • Edinburgh
  • Glasgow
  • Perth

It’ll mean Debenhams will have reopened all its shops in Wales, although nine stores in Scotland are still waiting for an opening date to be set.

In England, seven stores are waiting for an opening date to be confirmed.

Store opening times will vary, but most will be open from 10am until 6pm, Monday to Saturday, and 12pm until 6pm on Sundays.

Check the store locator tool for more information.

Like other retailers, Debenhams has introduced new social distancing rules to help keep staff and customers safe.

As well as scaled back opening hours, the majority of cafes and restaurants in stores have closed.

Shoppers will also find perspex screens at tills, hand sanitiser stations and staff and visors for employees.

As each store is limiting the number of customers allowed inside at one time, visitors may have to queue to get in.

Debenhams has also extended its returns policy, and is now accepting late returns up to June 30.

This applies to items bought in store or online from the 24th February onward.

Standard delivery is free for orders of £50 or more.

Which Debenhams stores are permanently closing?

Debenhams has previously announced that several of its stores will not be reopening.

It comes after the department store chain fell into administration for the second time in 12 months in April this year.

It had previously announced plans to shut around 50 stores in 2020 and 2021.

Last month, the retailer told The Sun these plans are still going ahead.

Debenhams has so far confirmed the following branches won’t reopen:

  • Birmingham’s Bullring
  • Borehamwood
  • Croydon (Centrale shopping centre)
  • Glasgow (Silverburn)
  • Kidderminster
  • Leamington Spa
  • Leicester (High Cross)
  • Reading (Oracle)
  • Salisbury
  • Southampton
  • South Shields
  • Stratford-Upon-Avon
  • Swindon
  • Truro
  • Warrington
  • Westfield in west London

Debenhams has been struggling with tough high street conditions long before the impact of coronavirus hit the UK.

It was forced to shut 50 stores permanently in 2019 after falling into administration for the first time.

Which Debenhams stores have already reopened?

THE following Debenhams stores have already reopened:

  • Banbury
  • Basildon
  • Barrow
  • Basingstoke
  • Bath
  • Bedford
  • Belfast
  • Beverley
  • Birmingham
  • Blackburn
  • Blackpool
  • Bolton
  • Bournemouth
  • Bradford
  • Brighton
  • Bristol
  • Bromley
  • Bury
  • Bury St Edmunds
  • Cambridge
  • Carlisle
  • Cheshire Oaks
  • Chelmsford
  • Chester
  • Chesterfield
  • Colchester
  • Coventry
  • Crawley
  • Doncaster
  • Exeter
  • Fareham
  • Foyleside
  • Gloucester
  • Guildford
  • Gravesend
  • Harrogate
  • Harrow
  • Hastings
  • Hemel
  • Hereford
  • Hounslow
  • Hull
  • Ilford
  • Ipswich
  • Leeds
  • Lichfield
  • Lincoln
  • Liverpool
  • Luton
  • Mansfield
  • Meadowhall
  • Newbury
  • Newry
  • Northampton
  • Norwich
  • Nottingham
  • Nuneaton
  • Middlesbrough
  • Oldham
  • Oxford
  • Oxford Street
  • Plymouth
  • Portsmouth
  • Preston
  • Redditch
  • Romford
  • Rushmere
  • Scarborough
  • Scunthorpe
  • Sheffield
  • Southend
  • Staines
  • Stevenage
  • Stockport
  • Sunderland
  • Sutton
  • Taunton
  • Telford
  • Torquay
  • Wakefield
  • Walsall
  • Warrington
  • Westwood Cross
  • Weymouth
  • White Rose
  • Wigan
  • Winchester
  • Woking
  • Worcester
  • Workington
  • Worthing
  • York Monks Cross

John Lewis is reopening nine more stores this week – see the full list.

But unfortunately, there are some stores that closed during lockdown which will never reopen.

Other venues, such as gyms, still remain closed – but here’s what they could look like when they reopen.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button